Is Life Worth Living?

No its not. Not if it’s spent in selfishness and self gratification. Not if it’s spent every day just making it through the day. The only worth, the only reason for living – the only reason I can find – is to Love and serve God and Love my neighbor. Sacrifice, what am I willing to sacrifice for true happiness? The things that I cleave to are worthless. What shall it profit a man to gain the whole world yet lose his own soul?

The following prayer sums up for me the meaning of life.

Prayer Of St. Francis Of Assisi
Lord, make me a channel of thy peace,
that where there is hatred, I may bring love;
that where there is wrong,
I may bring the spirit of forgiveness;
that where there is discord, I may bring harmony;
that where there is error, I may bring truth;
that where there is doubt, I may bring faith;
that where there is despair, I may bring hope;
that where there are shadows, I may bring light;
that where there is sadness, I may bring joy.
Lord, grant that I may seek rather to
comfort than to be comforted;
to understand, than to be understood;
to love, than to be loved.
For it is by self-forgetting that one finds.
It is by forgiving that one is forgiven.
It is by dying that one awakens to Eternal Life.

About Richard Froggatt

Richard Froggatt West Chester, Pa. Contact RichFrogg @ gmail.com
This entry was posted in Conversion, Personal, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is Life Worth Living?

  1. Bob says:

    Hey Richard. Unfortunately this is a lesson that is all too often learned from experience.

    Saint Francis is a perfect reminder, although living for the world has left me not only empty, but in debt. sigh. How much better it would have been to have taken the advice of that guy who 15 years ago told me that it was insanity to want to work to buy a bunch of junk. I thought he was a crazy bum. For all I know now he was an angel.

    You’re right. Conversion is a process. Baby steps are just fine as long as you’re stepping in the right direction.

  2. Richard Froggatt says:

    Bob,

    That’s a great a great point to remember! Especially since baby steps are all I usually make. 🙂

  3. servitus says:

    Baby steps… so true! Especially when we are so inundated by media and advertising to buy, buy, buy! Just remember that without consumerism our entire economy comes to a grinding halt and know that there can be no doubt that the devil himself is responsible for our entire way of life today. Simplicity is the enemy of modernism.

Leave a Reply

