Justification

Is the concept of infused righteousness biblical? I don’t believe in the concept that when we stand before the Father that the only reason we can is because He sees Christ’s righteousness and not us. I can’t grasp Luther’s dunghill Theology and I don’t believe it’s biblical.

Behold, all things are new, we are new. We are His children, not a whitewashed tomb.

 What does it mean to grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus? Is not this sanctification a means of justification? What sort of people ought we to be as we await our Lord? “Therefore, beloved, since you look for these things, be diligent to be found by Him in peace, spotless and blameless, ” and “if we sow to the flesh we shall reap destruction but if we sow to the spirit we shall reap life everlasting”.

Jesus does not pour new wine into old wineskins. We are the new wineskins filled with the Spirit. That is our justification, our gift from which no works of ours could ever produce. But what of the man who upon cleaning out his house allows it to become dwelt again with that which was driven out? His situation is worse than before.

Our works are important because they enable us to be used and they enable us to grow. By enable I mean that we are allowing God to work in us according to His good pleasure. The whole of human experience tells us this. It’s seen from everything from diet and exercise to the things we read and watch. Jesus lays the foundation and we are to build upon it. It’s what we build that will tell in the final analysis if the foundation is on solid rock or sinking sand. Again, and this is worth repeating, he who sows to the flesh will reap destruction but he who sows to the spirit will reap life everlasting. How can Sola Fide reconcile this verse?

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds….If we deliberately keep on sinning after we have received the knowledge of the truth, no sacrifice for sins is left”

And this is what the Church teaches; love and good deeds (works). For love is even greater than faith for if I have not love I am empty. If I only say I love you then those words are empty and meaningless. For if I truly love you then I will show my love in how I treat you and by what I do.

If it had not been for the sacrifice of Christ we would not know the love of God. This work of God completed His love for us. Our works complete our love for God in much the same way. For if we say we love Him yet hate our brother then we are a liar and the love of God is not in us. This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome.

About Richard Froggatt

Richard Froggatt West Chester, Pa. Contact RichFrogg @ gmail.com
This entry was posted in Catholic, Faith, Gospel, Hope, Justification, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Justification

  1. Randy says:

    I think the dunghill image is a bit exaggerated. I never heard it as a protestant. I have never heard a protestant seriously defend it. In fact I don’t think the differences in the typical case are very big at all. The typical case being that somebody accepts Jesus and then makes a serious attempt to live a holy life and pretty much succeeds.

    Even in the non-typical cases the differences are more in the way we describe it rather than the net effect. If they slip back into sin a protestant would say they have lost their faith (or if they are a Calvinist they never had it). We would say they are in a state of mortal sin.

    Then you have the whole idea of temporal consequences to sin. That is a big difference but it is not as significant as eternal salvation. If we can agree on the eternal questions then the temporal ones are pretty minor.

  2. Hi Randy,

    First, I agree whole heartedly with your last paragraph.

    Re: the dunghill. I did give that some thought before I posted it. I have heard it defended at least once, on the radio by a well known preacher/teacher. I could be mistaken but I believe it was John MacArthur.

    I will give it some more thought though. If you could; could you expand a little upon why it’s an exaggeration?

    Thanks and God Bless,

    Richard

Leave a Reply

