Snow Covered Dunghill

I’ve sent the following letter to a Lutheran Seminary in Germany

Hello,

I hope it is not imposing but I would like to know if Martin Luther ever said anything to the effect that ” Christ’s righteousness covers us like snow covers a dunghill”.

If so; is there a reference to it? If not, does it accurately describe Lutheran Theology concerning Justification?

For background; I am an American and I am Catholic. I’ve written online that Luther indeed said this but I don’t want to misrepresent him. This quote is has been making the rounds on the internet for years and I would at least like to be honest and accurate concerning Martin Luther and Lutheranism.

The reason I am writing and asking your Seminary is because here in America most people are only familiar with Martin Luther through his works in their English translation and from what I understand; most of his writing have yet to be translated.

I would also like you to know that whether he indeed said it or not I would use the information only to describe his Theology and not as something to accuse him.

Please forgive me if this letter does not flow well but I am using an online translator, translating from English to German.

Thank you and God Bless,

Richard Froggatt

About Richard Froggatt

Richard Froggatt West Chester, Pa. Contact RichFrogg @ gmail.com
This entry was posted in Dunghill, Justification, Martin Luther. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow Covered Dunghill

  1. timglass says:

    I’ve got it somewhere…. I’ll try to find it for you.

  2. Richard Froggatt says:

    Thanks Tim!

Leave a Reply

