I wish I’d never gotten married

But I’m glad I did. Does that sound strange? Let me explain. Growing up I was a loner and to top it off, I was lonely. I used to cry out to God to send me someone to love, I wanted a family, I wanted a woman to love, a woman who loved me. But let’s back up for a minute.

Before I got lost in this lonely world I was in love with Jesus. I used to practice saying Mass in my bedroom, I wanted to be a priest, I wanted to serve the Lord.

Back to crying out for someone to love. I’ve been homeless but I always had somewhere to sleep. I’ve been hungry but I’ve always gotten something to eat and I always wanted more. I was envious of what people had. Everyone had a better life than me (or so it seemed).

But I was wrong. I didn’t know true love. I didn’t know Christ! Now that I know love, true love, I want to give my whole self to love. But I’m divided.

Driving home from work tonight I realized the grace that was given me through my wife from Jesus. I believe that He answered my prayer even though it was probably not what was best for me. What was best for me would have been a life wholly dedicated to Him (for there is no greater purpose to life than to live for Him). But does this mean that He answered my prayer with something that was bad instead of the good? Absolutely not! For marriage is good; the two shall become one flesh.

I believe that Jesus saved my life by giving me my wife. For if I had been alone longer than I had been I don’t think I would have had the strength to live. Now, I have a beautiful wife and four beautiful children. There are times that I feel that I could have done more (and most times I probably could or should have) but all in all I’ve done my best.

I am satisfied with my wife, she is a good woman. I smile when I think of her. My children are beautiful and they give life meaning.

However, if I lost them all I would not despair now as I would have before. Now I know the meaning of life, I know love, True Love.

Dear Lord, help me to love my family truly as you have loved us. Help me to give all to you so that I will have something to give to those I love.

In Christ,

Richard

About Richard Froggatt

Richard Froggatt West Chester, Pa. Contact RichFrogg @ gmail.com
This entry was posted in Catholic, Faith, Grace, Hope, Love, Marriage, Personal, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I wish I’d never gotten married

  1. (Psa 91:1 KJV) He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
    (Psa 91:2 KJV) I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.
    (Psa 91:3 KJV) Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.
    (Psa 91:4 KJV) He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.
    (Psa 91:5 KJV) Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day;
    (Psa 91:6 KJV) Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.
    (Psa 91:7 KJV) A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.
    (Psa 91:8 KJV) Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked.
    (Psa 91:9 KJV) Because thou hast made the LORD, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation;
    (Psa 91:10 KJV) There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling.
    (Psa 91:11 KJV) For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.
    (Psa 91:12 KJV) They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone.
    (Psa 91:13 KJV) Thou shalt tread upon the lion and adder: the young lion and the dragon shalt thou trample under feet.
    (Psa 91:14 KJV) Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.
    (Psa 91:15 KJV) He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him.
    (Psa 91:16 KJV) With long life will I satisfy him, and show him my salvation.

  2. timglass says:

    Jesus saved my life by giving me my wife too. Isn’t that what the Sacraments do?

    Wow! That just hit me!

    Maybe they can say the same for us.

    Have a great day brother!

  3. Richard Froggatt says:

    Thanks Tim. I only hope and pray that my wife can say the same about me. I often think (it’s nice to believe anyway) that I was an answer to my wife’s mothers prayers. We got married in November 1990 and my wife’s mother died in December.

  4. Pingback: SHE FILLS ME « GROWING IN THE GRACE AND KNOWLEDGE OF OUR DEAREST LORD JESUS

  5. Richard Froggatt says:

    Oh wow, check that out. I automatically link to my own post.

Leave a Reply

